Does “IT” matter?

Standard

So, my starter friend, who is slightly past being my “starter” friend, prompted this blog, without his knowing so… Thanks MEP! LOL…

Let me set the scene… He and I both are very, very, very busy this week & today would be the best day for us to see each other even though our time spent together will be very limited. It’s either today, Tuesday or Sunday after church. This isn’t even a guarantee. The invite is prompted by me trying to entice him with a FABULOUS dinner. Though tempting, it doesn’t appear that seeing him is going to be an option, not even for today. We draft several plans & it’s still not looking good. He finally says, “I’ll be there.” This response is followed by a smug “Just have my hug ready.”

Now this is slightly embellished, seeing as how this  entire conversation was carried out via text & email. So, technically, there was no tone, but, you know?!…

Initially reading his response I chuckle to myself, think “okay“, shut down my computer and head home for the day. It wasn’t until I was walking my dog that I thought “Just have my hug ready? I’m cooking dinner for Pete’s sake!” And of course, as any Information Hoarder, this was promptly followed by a thought; the thought “does ‘IT’ matter?”

Does “IT” matter that I’m cooking him dinner if all he wants is a hug from me? Does “IT” matter that you bought her a dozen roses when all she wanted was your help cleaning the house? Does “IT” matter how much effort you put into giving him or her advice when all they wanted was an ear to listen and your affection?

Does “IT” matter that I’m cooking dinner when all he wants is a hug, from me?! NO. “IT” doesn’t matter. Fullfillment matters.

The next time someone request something of you, in love, not to be abused & you can provide it without a shadow of doubt, but are considering being stubborn or difficult because that’s second nature to you, stop & think…

Does “IT” really matter?

Peace~

Leave a Reply

