It’s A Black Thing…

Standard

Ok. So, long time no blog!  I have officially made it a goal to blog at least once a week!

So, per my last blog convo, I have made it perfectly clear that I like to “write” about this thing called life! So, I think I’m going call this Life and the City! Yes it’s a play off words from SATC! LOL

Anywho! One day I was work talking with my co-workers and one of co-workers randomly asks “do you smoke cigarettes?” As if posing that question wasn’t random enough… The conversation doesn’t stop there…

SIDE NOTE: Well, let me explain one thing! (This is my disclaimer)I “regulate” credit unions for a living. Currently, our team consist of 5 other examiners; 2 caucasian women (we’ll call them Sue, 50 & Amy,40s), 1 Mexican male (we’ll call him Joe, 40s), 1caucasian male (we’ll call him Ted, 30), and then me (The little natural black girl, 26). They are all relatively “cool.” My favorite is the married, caucasian female, SUE! She’s wonderful, sort of like a den mother! Ok….

Moving on…

After Joe poses the cigarette question we go on to talk about our family histories as it relates to smoking, drinking etc. I begin to talk about a few of my college experiences and the comversation of SIZZURP (syrup) is brought up. Amy comes back in the room and also joins the conversation regarding SIZZURP.

As the convo continues, Joe says “that must be a black thing.”

*GASP* *Crickett*Crickett* Amy giggles.

Now, we all remember the song “Sippin’ on some Sizzurp” by Three 6 Mafia. Yes they’re “black, rapping gangsters”, but does this really mean that just because they produced this song that it is now okay for it to be considered “A Black Thing.” Why isn’t it a “class” thing? An “environment” thing? An “educated” thing? OR even a CHOICE thing? Any THING, but why a BLACK thing?!

Now, if I would’ve have posed the question “Is popping Ecstacy a White thing?” OR “What about crack cocane or herione? Is it a White thing?” OR “Is getting “high” a Mexican thing?” Well, HECK NO! None of these things would be okay!

I am not so naive to think that racial profiling or racial stereo types don’t still exist…Even in this day and age… But can’t we open our minds?! A culture/entire race does not sit down at a town meeting and decide “we’re going to make smoking weed/sippin sizzurp/smoking crack ‘our thing’.” *UGH*

The next time you think you want to pose a question or make a statement like “that must be a black thing”, maybe you should sit down and think and say to yourself… IT’S AN INDIVIDUAL THING!

Good thing we didn’t blame your whole race for ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL of the bad decisions you may have made!…

STOP IT!

PE@CE~

About UnderSt83d

Just a few random thoughts of someone trying to "break the mold." Transitioning is a motha!!! And life can be too! Trying to enjoy the ride, but need an outlet at times... Logic vs Realism vs Optimism Blogging the Journey.....

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

